FAQ

How are Blue Legend classes structured? How many times a week? How long is each class? 

Each of our sessions contain 10 classes. Classes are for 2 times a week, and each class lasts 1 hour (synchronized swimming class is 1.5 hours).

What is the teacher/student ratio in Blue Legend classes?

In our learn to swim classes, the teacher/student ratio is 1:5. In our long-term training classes for all four strokes, the teacher/student ratio is 1:8. In our synchronized swimming classes, the teacher/student ratio is 1:8-10. 

Do you offer tryout classes? How do you know my child’s current level? Should I bring my child over to have him/her evaluated?

At Blue Legend, we do not offer tryout classes. However, we have our own evaluation system. Parents can evaluate their child’s swimming level based on the descriptions of different program levels that we offer. We also recommend parents to send us your child’s swimming videos so that our coaches will have a better idea and recommend your child the level that suits him/her. 

After registration, what swimming equipment shall we prepare for the child?

Our registration comes with a swim cap with Blue Legend logo on it as well as an equipment bag. You only need to prepare swimsuit, goggles, slippers and a big towel. Other equipment such as kick board or floaty will be provided by Blue Legend. 

What if my child is sick or must miss a class? Do you offer makeup classes?

If your child must miss a class for any reasons, please let us know ahead. For each session, we offer one makeup class regardless of how many classes your child has missed. Makeup classes are for mixed levels and do not have a limit of max number of students per class. We’ll let you know ahead the date and time of the makeup class. Please make an appointment for it. 

After registration, if for personal reasons a student cannot continue attending classes, can I withdraw and get refund? 

Once registered for classes, you cannot withdraw. Refund will not be issued for any reason (tardy, sickness, absence, etc.). 

My child is still at a young age, and most certainly will not pursue professional athletic career when he/she grows up. Would it be enough that I teach him/her to swim? Why should I go for a professional swim coach? 

For many of us, learning to swim is once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. The techniques you learn and the habit you form are very important. Trained incorrectly as a child, he/she may find it very hard to correct their swimming habit in later years. Self-taught or taught by unprofessional, it might leave a child with incorrect muscle memory. Once become a habit, it’s hard to correct. Our coaches at Blue Legend are trained in swimming instruction and know how to teach your child proper swimming techniques. We make sure your child improves his/her swimming skills in a steady and progressive manner. 

My child is not a quick learner. He’s slow in learning gross motor skills, and he’s still at a young age. Should I wait till he’s older to learn swimming?

It really depends on the purpose of having your child learn to swim. If you want to keep your child out of the danger of drowning, then sure, you can wait till he’s older. If you want to develop your child’s interest in swimming, encourage your child into a healthy active lifestyle, and build his/her endurance, resilience as well as confidence through regular group training, then it’s never too early to start! At Blue Legend, we offer Bubble Class for children as young as 3.5 years old. Once they reach 4.5 years old, they will start to learn different swimming strokes. One of the benefits of starting lessons at an early age is to reduce their fear of water, making it much easier to learn various techniques in later years. 

How many classes does it take to be able to swim?

Different people have different definition of “be able to swim”. Some may define it as dare to jump in the water and manage to float. Some may think it means able to stay afloat while performing some strokes. Yet others might not call themselves swimmers even if they could swim from one end to the other! Be able to move in the water and be good at swimming are rather two different concept. It is easy to move from one spot to another in the water, but it does not mean one can swim. There is no shortcut to learning swimming. It takes proper techniques and practice.

Why does my child learn slower than other kids? 

Swimming is a perfect sport to boost physical fitness. However, teaching children to swim is not like assembling products on an assembly line. Children’s aptitude for swimming and attitude for training vary, even their body type and diet are different. All these affects how fast they learn. Our coaches are experienced at adjusting to children’s learning styles, helping them progress in their suitable pace. We cannot promise all children to come out the exact same level, just like schools cannot promise all students score 100 in tests. Even twins learn differently, so rather than compare with others how slow or fast your child learns, try to enjoy the process of learning and be prepared to surprise yourself with the progress your child makes!

To Our Parents
What you need to know about swim lessons for children
  • Please limit food intake 30 minutes before class to avoid discomfort or cramp in water. 
  • We suggest that children use bathroom before changing into swimsuits. Workout will increase circulation and bowel movement. It’s a good habit to use bathroom before class to avoid wasting time running for bathroom in the middle of a class. Swimsuits: please choose those that are comfortable to wear and easy to put on and take off. 
  • It is against our policy to let any child enter the pool without adult supervision. Before class starts, please hand your child over to our coach. During class, please stay by the poolside and keep an eye on your child. Do not chat, make phone calls, read or play on the phone. For safety purposes, after class, children under 12 are not allowed to enter the Jacuzzi. Please pick up your child and exit the pool as soon as the class ends. Your child’s safety is our first priority. Please take it very seriously. 
  • Pool temperature: In general, pool temperature is kept around 84-86F. In cold weather, please wrap your child with big bath towel when he/she gets out of water. Dry thoroughly after shower, dress accordingly, dry any water inside the ears and stay hydrated. Immediately after swimming, please do not sit in the car directly in front of the AC. Poolside is wet and slippery, please remind your child not to get in or out of water without coach permission, and not to run or jump by the poolside. Our coaches will also remind them during the class. 
  • Children have their own pace when learning a new skill. Please try not to compare with other children, force or criticize your own. We would like all our parents to be the strongest supporter and backbone for our children. If you have any question, please communicate with our coaches. It is our duty to offer you professional advice and help so that both you and your child will have a happy learning experience. 
  • Otitis media (middle ear infection): Children’s ear canals are short. If water gets in, it’s easy to get out. Middle ear infection happens when the eustachian tubes are blocked due to upper respiratory infection or allergy, causing the accumulation of fluids in the middle ear. A bacterial or viral infection of this fluid causes the symptom of pain in the ear. A lot of children get middle ear infection even without swimming. What you can do is to have the child try to get water, if any, out of the ears by tilting the head to the ear facing down and jumping up and down while gently pulling the earlobe. 
  • Allergy: Unless you are allergic to any substance in the water, you can swim. Swimming can help build up strong physique to alleviate allergy. 
  • We hope all children will enjoy swimming in a happy, supportive and positive environment. We hope your whole family will enjoy the process of learning to swim. 

Contact Us

常见疑问

Blue Legend的游泳课是怎么安排的?每周几次训练,每次课多长时间?

您好, Blue Legend的一期课程是10次课。每周2次训练课,每次训练课是一个小时(花游班每次训练课为1个半小时)。

Blue Legend的游泳课师生比例是怎样分配的?

您好,Blue Legend的学习泳姿游泳课程是1名教练:5名学员。四种泳姿游泳长训班课程是1名教练:8名学员。花样游泳课程是一名教练:8-10名学员。

你们有没有试课?或如何判断孩子是什么游泳水平,我们可以把孩子带来测试一下吗?

您好,Blue Legend没有试课。但我们有自己的评估系统,首先家长可以根据我们的课程分级标准来自行评估孩子的游泳水平,另外我们更加推荐家长发送孩子的游泳视频给 Blue Legend的专业教练进行评估,以便更加直观的测试出孩子适合报名的班次。

请问报名Blue Legend游泳课后我们要给孩子准备什么游泳器具?

您好,Blue Legend会给新注册的学员赠送一顶印有学校logo的泳帽及一个游泳干湿两用背包。您只需给孩子准备舒适的泳衣裤和泳镜。以及拖鞋,大浴巾即可。关于游泳教学方面的所有用具,如打水板,浮漂等Blue Legend会为学生们准备。

孩子生病或者中途外出可以请假吗?请假如何补课?

您好,如果课程期间因为任何问题是可以请假的,学员如缺课每期可进行一次补课。无论缺课次数多少,均只有一次补课机会。补课标准为不分游泳级别,无人数上限,补课时间会提前通知,学员需提前预约。

如果报名后中途因为个人原因无法继续参加训练,可以退课退款吗?

您好, 请学员安排好自己的课程时间,一经报名不可中途退课。任何情况(迟到,误课, 旷课,生病等)均不以退费。

孩子还小,以后也不想走专业运动员路线,是不是父母随便教教就好?还是从开始就要找专业的教练?

初学游泳对于很多人来说,一生中仅此一次。第一次学会的习惯和技术是非常重要的,可能会影响孩子一生的游泳习惯。如果自学或不专业的人士教游泳,会让孩子形成错误的肌肉记忆,如果错误动作习惯性定型纠正起来很麻烦。Blue Legend优秀专业的教练绝对会让你少走很多弯路。

我觉得我家孩子学习的能力不太强,学动作估计不太快,年纪又这么小,是不是大一点学比较好?

您好,这得看您想让孩子学游泳是为了什么。有的家长觉得孩子淹不着会自救就行,那就大点再学也行。如果是想让孩子通过团体训练的方式让游泳这种运动成为她的兴趣,锻炼意志品质,那肯定是从小学习更好。Blue Legend的课程从3岁半以上的儿童就可以报名泡泡班,4岁半以上的儿童就可以开始报名学习泳姿。孩子从小接触水,对水的适应性比长大后再学要好得多。

一般几节课可以学会?

您好,会游泳在每个人心中的定义都不同,所以针对不同的学员和家长,心中对于会的标准都差距很大。有人觉得敢下水就算会了,有人觉得可以在水里面划几下就算会了,但是有人能在泳池里游几个来回也还算不上会!学会和学精是两个完全不同的概念。要知道,在水里移动是很简单的事情,然而会移动不等于会游。学习游泳没有捷径,所谓的速成更是一种不负责任的表现。

为什么我们家孩子不如别人家孩子进度的快?

游泳是一件强身健体的运动,学习游泳不是制作零件,学员不是产品,培训也没有一成不变的流水线。不同的队员天赋、学习时训练时的认真程度,甚至体型、饮食都不尽相同。所以教练会根据每个学员的情况帮助他们达到不同的进度。没有人能够保证把每个学员都训练成一致的水准,就像学校也不能保证每个学生都考100分!因为每个学习游泳的孩子都存在个体差异,即使双胞胎学习游泳也有进度快慢不同。所以,不必纠结学的快与慢,也不必和其他人对比。请您相信您的孩子通过努力后会给您意想不到的惊喜。

家长心语
家长必须了解的,关于儿童学习游泳的一些常识性知识
  • 游泳上课之前30分钟尽量不要进食,避免在学习游泳过程中产生不适。
  • 穿泳衣前,先如厕。如厕:运动会促进循环和排泄,让孩子有好的习惯非常重要,可以让孩子在上课之前先去如厕,避免课程中间上厕所穿脱衣服造成麻烦; 泳衣裤:只要适合孩子的泳衣裤都可以,穿脱方便。
  • 泳池绝对不允许孩子单独入池,请家长在上课之前把孩子交到教练手中,家长必须岸边监护,请不要聊天,打电话,看书,手机等,下课后未到12岁的青少年不得在热水池中泡水,以免发生危险。请及时接走孩子尽快离开泳池,安全问题是最最最重要的,请家长务必谨慎对待。
  • 水温:一般泳池水温是在84-86度左右,天气冷时上水要及时用大毛巾包裹,洗浴后要及时擦干水分,穿好衣服,控干净耳朵里的水,及时补充水分。游泳后坐车中尽量不要直吹空调。泳池边比较湿滑,请叮嘱孩子不要随意上下水或在池边跑跳,教练也会在课程当中经常提醒。
  • 孩子在学习的过程当中接受程度有快有慢,不要互相比较,强迫或指责孩子,希望家长是孩子的支持者和赞美者。如有疑问及时与教练沟通,相信专业的建议会帮助孩子和家长更加快乐的参与到游泳当中。
  • 中耳炎:孩子的耳道短又直,进水会很容易流出,所有中耳炎都是并发症,耳朵进水(很多状况,洗澡,洗脸,游泳)没有及时控干净,又正好发烧,耳朵里面的水受到皮肤的高温引发炎症才导致的中耳炎,所以,很多孩子,即使不游泳也会有中耳炎的情况,我们要做的,就是上水之后让孩子左右脚轮换跳跳,控干净里面的水。
  • 过敏体质:只要不是对游泳池里某种物质过敏就没问题,相反,通过游泳可以增强体质。
  • 希望孩子在快乐、温暖、赞美的气氛当中参与到游泳当中来,愿你们整个家庭享受整个学习游泳的过程。

联系我们